Ikea’s VIKTIGT Collection

Display of a collection in bamboo and rattan. Consisting of sofas, easy chairs, rugs, baskets and pendant lamps.

 

I feel like I’m a bit behind with this news, as I am with most things in life- I tend to be the last to find out or notice!  However, I found out today that IKEA will be launching a new limited edition collection named VIKTIGT. This will be released in to shops as of May this year.  I am so excited for this to arrive!  For those who know me well, they will know I have a love for natural handcrafted materials so this new collection is right up my street.

It will be created in collaboration with a well known Swedish glass and ceramic designer Ingegerd Råman. I hadn’t heard of her name prior to hearing about this collection however, after spending some time researching her work I now want every piece she has ever created. Her work is beautiful and timeless and very simple in its form and would look amazing paired with any interior design style.

The new VIKTIGT collection ranges from handmade glassware to furniture woven from natural fibres like bamboo, rattan and seaweed. Its aim is to promote a love of craftsmanship and simplicity and will use the skills of local craftsmen and artisans to create these gorgeous pieces.

I have a favourite few items already that I’ll be keeping my eye out for. What are your thoughts on this new collection? Do you have any favourites?

All images sourced from Ikea Media Room

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

